The Lost Songs: 1978- 1981

Release Date: August 28th 2020


  • Black 12" Vinyl
  • CD Digipack
  • Digital Audio
  • Streaming
  • Special D2C bundles
  • The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 is out now on CD, Vinyl, digital formats and special D2C bundles at this location

    It wasn’t always multi-platinum sales and stadium gigs for Dokken. There was a first-phase and there were early days, and it is those bold first steps to stardom which are celebrated comprehensively on Dokken’s The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 album, out on August 28th 2020 through Silver Lining Music.

    Featuring spectacular sleeve art by renowned US artist Tokyo Hiro (Motörhead, Motley Crüe), The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 show the crackle and craft of a hungry young Don Dokken as he embarked upon a journey which started in Southern California and Northern Germany. It is a trek which is testimony to the sheer endeavour and perseverance Don Dokken showed in those few years between 1978 and 1981, starting from when he spent time at a guitar store called Drake’s Music, owned by Drake Levin in Manhattan Beach, California.

    The writing and creation of The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 are further tribute to enduring early days of struggle in both Germany and LA, Don would return to LA for a spell after those brief European gigs, and he worked with Croucier on material, including perhaps the truest view of Dokken’s then-future “Hit And Run”, which incredibly did not end up on the eventual Breaking The Chains release. From the sunbaked SoCal hook of “Step Into The Light” to the furious, fledgling, late-Sunset Strip sound of “Back In The Streets,” The Lost Songs: 1978-1981 shows Don in his unfettered early days of balls-out attitude, qualities doubtless forged in the sheer nature of the adventures undertaken in writing, recording and deciding Europe was the place to keep cutting his teeth.

    The track‐listing is as follows:

    01 - Step Into the Light
    02 - We’re Going Wrong
    03 - Day After Day
    04 - Rainbows
    05 - Felony
    06 - No Answer
    07 - Back In the Streets
    08 - Hit and Run
    09 - Broken Heart
    10 - Liar
    11 - Prisoner


Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok