Release Date: 7th June 2024


  • CD Digipak
  • 12” Splatter Colour Vinyl
  • Special D2C products and bundles
  • Digital Download and Streaming


Grand Slam co-founding member Laurence Archer, and front man Mike Dyer, make it extraordinarily clear that theirs has been a true journey of destiny, one where early unions ended up leaving unfinished business on the table, and one which finally sees Grand Slam attending to said-business with the brand-new album Wheel Of Fortune.

Their story is one of persistence and craft, ensuring that the best elements of Grand Slam’s history were absorbed and fused with the experiences and drive of relationships stretching decades. However, do not make the mistake of thinking this is a band returning from a past: it’s a band fulfilling their present and future with a willfulness and desire that permeate every song on Wheel Of Fortune, from Archer’s faultless, fearless fret-driven song architecture on ‘Spitfire’ to Dyer’s swagger and style on ‘There Goes My Heart’. There are moments such as ‘Come Together (In Harlem)’ where the moody strut of original co-founder Phil Lynott is unmistakable, yet the multi-layered steamy swing of ‘Pirate Song’ makes it very clear where Grand Slam are coming from.

“I want everybody to see this as a new band… and anybody that hasn’t heard Grand Slam since 1984, I want them to see this as a fresh invigoration of the project moving into the modern times.” – Laurence Archer

Joined by Benjy Reid on drums and Rocky Newton on bass, some best laid plans for the band’s rebirth were set for take-off until Covid-19 brought the world to a standstill (it is one of the main reasons Hit The Ground will also be enjoying a 2024 release alongside Wheel Of Fortune). However, the creative fire and will to propel Grand Slam got stronger still.

Wheel Of Fortune is out now on a variety of formats and orders can be placed at this location


1. There Goes My Heart
2. Starcrossed Lovers
3. Come Together (In Harlem)
4. Trail Of Tears
5. Feeling Is Strong (Jo's Song)
6. Spitfire
7. I Wanna Know!
8. Pirate Song
9. Afterlife
10. Wheel Of Fortune
Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok