udrpage artistheader buffalo summer

Desolation Blue

Release Date: 01.02.2019


  • CD Digipak
  • Digital Download
  • Streaming


Buffalo Summer's new album Desolation Blue" is out NOW! Available on CD Digipak, digital formats and special D2C bundles at THIS LOCATION

With their unique air of mystery and magic enveloped by some of the warmest and most addictive rolling riffs this side of the planet, Desolation Blue was recorded capturing the band’s energy at its very best – live off the floor at Rockfield Studios and Monnow Valley Studio in Wales. Produced by Barrett Martin (The Screaming Trees) once more, and predominantly engineered by Tom Manning, the sessions took just 5 days, giving Desolation Blue an electric, spontaneous edge.

Andrew Hunt (vocals), Jonny Williams (guitar), Darren King (bass) and Gareth Hunt (drums) are joined on the album by Peter Buck (REM) with a 12 string guitar on “The Bitter End" plus mandolin on “Last To Know", Kelby Ray Caldwell (The Cadillac Three) with lap steel on “Hit The Ground Running", Emma Bryden with cello on “Last To Know” and “Pilot Light" plus Barrett Martin stepping out of the production chair to play some percussion, vibraphone and Fender Rhodes & Hammond organ across the board.

Whether quoting Bukowski or throwing down the sort of thick, warm, swervy-curvy grooves that will have bikers revving their engines and patchouli-scented rockers rollin’ their bodies to the riffs, Desolation Blue is a masterfully mature step-up for Buffalo Summer. The first single, ‘Everybody’s Out For Number 1’, brims with the sort of cocky, hip-swinging attitude, and overall, from the bewitching guitars of ‘Deep Water’ to the boot-stomping, lip-curling snarl of ‘Hit The Ground Running’ and classic rock swagger of ‘Untouchable’, Buffalo Summer have forged a dozen songs that will accent your life with the sort of freedom and attitude great classic rock ‘n’ roll brings.

RECORDED AT: Rockfield Studios & Monnow Valley Studio, UK

PRODUCED BY: Barrett Martin


MIXED BY: Tom Manning, David Radahd-Jones and Ulrich Wild

The track‐listing is as follows:

1. The Power & The Greed
2. Hit The Ground Running
3. If Walls Could Speak
4. The Mirror
5. When You Walk Away
6. Last To Know
7. Dark Valentine
8. Deep Water
9. Everybody’s Out For Number 1
10. Untouchable
11. The Bitter End
12. Pilot Light
Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok